Category Archives: News

Olympian visits swimmers

What an amazing day Askeaton Swimming Club experienced on Tuesday 22nd December 2015.

Fiona Doyle, the first Irish swimmer to qualify for Olympics 2016 conducted a workshop with our young swimmers.

Two days previous to Fiona’s visit to us, she was named sportswoman of the year.

hB8ORUg8YJ6uAP2UtXkifspTw-QmhEoJFlnOsaQwRJg,zlI0aRGxhcsPZMqVKSQkTylnYAnJw6H-ZNf7OxUJkSU sMXKeQ9WCdtZCMLTDh1CSM0XlIYU4ayYf0UX_ZayRtY,IPnxHjHdmv9sYEc4gwpAZNlIM0aQq1IS-c0ybM1cklE  VC42ngdowEXvktEtiSeGfXTeY1twheaWC_9vOskAKoM,kw2U0H8t6z7OHb-KS8WZYNs2m-7HwK8bQPPzabop2xA MO2O5Uj9NRiO4ejk2UC91J_XoMjjG3YNBHKmYluzBSkWv4N4aQuW9LB7P1HtZrBsL3i4GG2ClncoxVEjs0yDFg (2) -tUrm_0MNuRiwrlpsD3zYzK622S9-M5gZdxdElGD6nQ,FtZQN75wBMn-GMSrwUdawrnve9rwuscQqlRijF76Do0 X0VQSQc2l4X-gj1pueqCrMkykw32vaXETOP__mrsXuM,7siO8IS_Je7elRzEzY2MfDM2YoIkBXjIWVInPgcMIug yB7Ma0mBKglJgqVVWzm9_7VQqzj_syn9hmGp_tKZpC0,g8UPgN--yZJ6kZu733fDFPKREO7nwc4x0GcC2PVyNTg HYxIXzdwZV0q0Mc2k0-Mz9Lhr4WAmh-4NaS9Y2AQDKY,-H94W-i7QSIOZEtztLpKEb0I_ZfPEIjsd0nxGY4HNAw LVdGQOBmLGUkrnOur9PgQYKoDJ6nD2H6fMZ6fMi0kwk,szmTr-702QfBxxl3iIzUY4OS_FwLpbUZteGjoh040uw

On behalf of Askeaton Swimming Club we would like to wish Fiona the very best of luck in the Olympics.

#TBT – Not so long ago

I know some of the people in this photo are in their 30’s now, so as our #TBT’s go, its a more recent photo. Next week we’ll go a bit deeper into the archives, do you recognise anyone?


If you wish to contribute to this feature feel free to email images & stories to

Confined Gala - Click to enlarge
Confined Gala – Click to enlarge


#TBT – 1971 Committee

So the first in a series of #ThrowBackThursday posts. Every Thursday at 1800 we will post a picture and a story around it. For the first #TBT it had to be the oldest committee picture I could lay my hands on. The committee of 1971. The year Askeaton Swimming Club opened the outdoor heated Swimming Pool.


If you wish to contribute to this feature feel free to email images & stories to

1971 Committee - Click To Enlarge
1971 Committee – Click To Enlarge